The True Iron Man

“I don’t want to gain the whole world and loose my soul.”  What a powerful lyric that is?  In my struggle for self righteousness and control, I have learned that in trying to gain power, wealth & popularity to meet the status quo and feel accepted in a world based around greed and self purpose is pointless.  It’s a battle you and I will never win.  Because we always loose something in return, ourselves.

Matthew 6:24 says,  “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money. 

But we gotta make a living right.   Some of us barely make it, some of us want to get by and others just want to rule the world.  I wish I was Tony Stark.  I wish I had what he had, he has everything.  But than he’s not me.  We want to be loved by others because just being ourselves isn’t enough.  Being who God created us to be will never be enough because that broken record plays over and over again in our minds.  Besides a large house and a fancy car, I’ve seen from my own eyes what that Tony Stark kind of lifestyle can get you, false friends and an empty life.  Money is not everything and sure does not lead to happiness   And it’s sad.  How can we get so last in money?  How can we let it control us so much.  And at one point in our lives do we have to step back away and say, I’ve had enough.  I’ve been working hard everyday of my life to become Tony Stark and I feel like I’m moving backwards.  The thing is, is not all us are meant to walk this Earth as Iron Man.  I’m not saying that hard work doesn’t pay off because it does.  What am saying is that you don’t have to change who you are to prove yourself  to anyone just so you can be accepted.  There is no one like you which makes you unique and special.  But it’s not easy.

I’m 32.  I spent half my life wishing I could be someone else.  I didn’t seem to fit in this world.  I didn’t seem to fit in this generation.  And I got bullied all the way through school for it.  But in the middle of those storms I called insecurity , I felt something calling me in a different direction.  Not to bow down.  Not to give in.  It was tough, it was a fight I fought, and had I been stronger in my faith, I would have been untouched because I would have known how much I was actually loved.   It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I realized that back than, it was the holy spirit that had guided me through those school yard terrors.  But I don’t regret a thing.  Christians have been persecuted since the beginning of time and it will never end until Jesus comes back.  And the whole world will look around and realize, I wish I would have known, I wish someone would have helped me to see the light.  Were stubborn.  We like to do things in our own way and in our own time.  That’s why it so difficult for so many to believe in God.  We would prefer him to be a Genie with unlimited wishes at our own disposal.  Whatever we want & whenever we want.  That’s how God should be, right?  Wrong!  God works at his own pace not ours, which means you are were you are simply because God placed you there and it will be on his watch when he moves you.  You have a purpose for where you are and who you are.  No matter what anyone says you are a child of God.  You are blessed.  Don’t spend you life worshipping a false idol!  In the end, the only thing you’ll find is a lonely lost soul searching for a purpose that will never be found.  In this world and in the eyes of God, to be who you are, is what makes you a True Iron Man.

Leave a Reply

