THE CHILD WITHIN ME

Alone & in the midst of a self-inflicted storm created by a rogue wave of negativity & self-doubt; I found hope through the whispers of a voice asking me to look up.  I had been struggling with my faith, questioning my purpose & who I was when I found a very meaningful photo of an 8 year old boy.  The smile of his innocence & the absence of pain written across his face brought tears to my eyes and joy in my heart.  Would the world destroy the carefree spirit of this Little League Baseball Player?  Would his life be so easily overtaken by the worry and stress of the world, that he forgets who he is just so that he can fit into the typical mold society places upon him?  Or will he have the courage to stand up for what he believes in & find the hope it takes to live his life as God planned it to be.

1 Corinthians 13:11 says, “When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child.  When I became a man, I gave up my childish ways.”

Everyone grows up, but not everyone truly lives.  For so many of us today we live our lives not based around the truth written throughout the Bible, but around a lie manifested from the fear of feeling unaccepted.  We’re afraid of not fitting in, being judged & criticized for being who we are or feeling unloved as if we had nothing to offer.  Would you say God made one giant mistake when he created you?  If you did, than you don’t know God, not yet.  Lucky for you, he never makes mistakes, but people do.  You are unique for a reason, being different is a blessing, not a curse.  The only voice or footsteps you should follow is Gods.  Who are we if were not ourselves?

Inside the silence of my truck, I continued to sit alone staring at the photo of this young boy wondering where he would be today; and if I saw him would I recognize who he was.  Did he follow in the footsteps of his school peers to smoke, drink, judge, fight & criticize?  Did the world teach him to grow into such a responsible and serious adult that he forgot how to have fun along the way?   Or did he choose to follow his heart, realizing that if he did, he might be considered an outcast to others who didn’t think or feel the same way.  I chose to be different.  Even though life’s struggles and all it’s unanswered questions sometimes tore me down, I would still find my way back to following the voice of God to give me strength.  We may not always be accepted by someone here on Earth, but you will always be loved by God in heaven.

IMG_0017 3

“I may have grown older in body, but the child within me will live on forever.”  Luke, the Little Leaguer

Matthew 18:1-3 says, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” And calling to him a child, he put him in the midst of them and said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

Leave a Reply

